Virgin Australia enters into a major partnership with V8 Supercars and the championship is renamed to the ‘Virgin Australia Supercars Championship’. While Holden still maintains it will support the Commodore in local competition until the end of 2021 despite it going out of business as a carmaker, the Commodore's final year started in Adelaide in March (and won't get going again until June at this rate). AEST = Australian Eastern Standard Time which is 10 hours ahead of GMT (Greenwich Mean Time). "I'll keep going though because I'm a petrol head," Mr Nemer said. "But I think the reason we have the fans is that they're a fan of motorsport as well," Percat said. The AMP Bathurst 1000 is held for two-litre international Super Tourers and telecast on the Seven Network and the Primus 1000 Classic for V8 Supercars on the Ten Network just two weeks later. McLaughlin also took his maiden Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 alongside Alex Premat, who became the first Frenchman to conquer the Mountain. The race is a round of the World Touring Car Championship for the first and only time, and The Chase – a deviation and chicane in Conrod Straight – is introduced. Van Gisbergen wastes little time, winning his maiden championship. "They're hand-made race cars and, other than the body panels that look like or Holden or a Ford, they're nothing like a road car anymore. The Clipsal 500 in Adelaide is held for the first time on the old Formula 1 circuit. General Motors had pledged to continue manufacturing under the Holden name, but Mr Nemer said its decision to badge their imported 2018 ZB sedan a Holden Commodore, a model that was largely snubbed by Australians, was a bad move. From 1960 to 1968 the Australian Touring Car Championship was decided by a single race, but since 1969 it has been determined by a series, consisting of 16 events across the country with a visit to New Zealand in 2018. The Armstrong 500 moves from Phillip Island (its home of three years) to Bathurst and thus begins the event we now know as the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000. "We've also noticed after the recent Bathurst 12-hour race, the increased strength of the GT category.". Kiwi Robbie Francevic becomes the oldest man to win the Australian Touring Car Championship aged 44. The race eventually grows into what becomes known as the Sandown 500. V8 Supercar (Car of the Future) Technical Specifications. A second-tier V8 Supercar series is created as a development category for drivers, teams and personnel. What could Amy Coney Barrett's selection mean for US abortion rights? Paired with John Bowe, the duo lead all 161 laps to claim victory in their Shell Sierra turbo. Initially known as the ‘Konica V8 Lites’, the first round is held at Eastern Creek on March 26, 2000 and Dean Canto wins the first series. Nick has worked for Qantas since 1999, but now his job could be outsourced, Jonathan bought a $700K unit in Darwin's CBD. An event won by Todd Kelly, this is the first and only time the series competes at the home of the Chinese Grand Prix. A milestone 2013 was the first year of the Car of the Future (COTF) platform. The Bathurst 1000 is included as a part of the V8 Supercar Championship for the first time. The win is the first of an eventual nine for the man to become ‘King of the Mountain’. As racing series go, Supercars – formerly V8 Supercars – is a unique formula. The Bathurst 1000 race on the October long weekend was as sacred a day as Christmas or your birthday, and you only hoped your favourite – Brock, Moffat, Johnson, Grice, Perkins – came out on top for bragging rights at school the following Tuesday. Australian motor racing legend Peter Brock is killed in a tarmac rally accident in Perth on September 8. He competes for one more season before quitting the sport to move to America and race in NASCAR in 2006. “I think that from what we’re able to see from the manufacturer road maps, two-door sportscars – obviously, the Mustang is the first of which – will be a core part.”, Read more: Rules need to change for Camaro Supercars.