At the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, we drop in on a history class called “Dolly Parton’s America.” (We borrowed the name for our series!) Market demands for coal were the economic impetus that was responsible for the establishment of the mining towns on Bon Air Mountain. And also, halfway around the world, Esther Konkara, the self-proclaimed “Kenyan Dolly Parton,” who sings "Tennessee Mountain Home" as an ode to the hills of Nairobi - hills she has not yet left. The two companies merged in 1919 and in 1926, became a part of Tennessee Products Corporation. Justin Hiltner (@hiltnerj, http://justinhiltner.com) Esther Konkara (@esther_konkara) Steph Jenkins (@slhjenkins, http://www.stephaniejenkins.info) Stephanie Coleman (@stephiecoleman) Courtney Hartman (@courthartman, https://www.courtneyhartman.com) Shelley Washington (@shelleyplaysaxy, http://shelleywashington.com) Bora Yoon (@borabot, http://borayoon.com) Caroline Shaw (@caroshawmusic, https://carolineshaw.com). And as her career progresses, the songs expand beyond the pain to tell tales of leaving abuse behind. https://www.podtrac.com/pts/redirect.mp3/audio.wnyc.org/dpa/dpa102219_iwillalwaysleaveyou.mp3, https://www.podtrac.com/pts/redirect.mp3/audio.wnyc.org/dpa/dpa101519_sadasssongs.mp3. In the wake of the Charlottesville Riots in 2017, the Dixie Stampede was called out by the press, and then became embroiled in the larger national conversation about Civil War monuments and the white-washing of history. The Tennessee Mountain home begins to seem like part of a Disney fairytale. Is it desirable, or even possible?

"Like all law abiding Tennesseans, Jad grew up with the song on a loop.  He hadn’t planned to talk with Dolly about it, but much to his surprise, he is drawn into a Tennessee Mountain Trance.  The trance opens a portal to many questions about country music, authenticity, nostalgia and belonging.  And to a place called Dollywood. We visit the replica of Dolly’s childhood cabin and find thousands of other pilgrims similarly entranced.  Along the way, we meet Wandee Pryor, who lived in a Dolly dreamworld as a girl.  And also, halfway around the world, Esther Konkara, the self-proclaimed “Kenyan Dolly Parton,” who sings "Tennessee Mountain Home" as an ode to the hills of Nairobi - hills she has not yet left.  The Tennessee Mountain home begins to seem like part of a Disney fairytale.But then, Jad and Shima get a call from Dolly’s nephew and head of security Bryan Seaver, who makes an irresistible offer.Â. Her nephew calls this “Dollitics”: Dolly doesn’t take a position because she knows half her fans are on the right, half are on the left. We visit the replica of Dolly’s childhood cabin and find thousands of other pilgrims similarly entranced.  Aug 16, 2020 We are a local small business that caters to trappers throughout the United States by providing bait and lure for dog proof trapping. That simple question leads to a deeply personal, historical, and musical rethinking of one of America’s great icons.